Driift Mania Review

by Jeann Wong WiiWare

13 Comments 7 Votes 2791 Views 05/08/2009 Back to WiiWare Game Reviews

By Jeann Wong                            Price: 800 Points

Judging from the latest Wiiware releases, it seems that developers have finally discovered that something different must be offered besides the usual minigames or puzzle clones. As a classic racing game reminiscent of 80’s Super Off-Road, Driift Mania meets this criteria. The game features a top-down view of the entire racetrack, racing Matchbox-like cars on a one-screen course which include cityscape, hills, snowy environments and desert oasis.

32 vehicles are available across small, medium, heavy and special classes. You can choose to race against one or all of the vehicle classes, where additional vehicles are unlocked upon winning. The Wiimote is used on its side, which does offer a few control issues for your drifting. Quickly maneuvering your vehicle around a small course takes a little getting used to.

Aside from the usual single player mode (Championship), Multiplayer is also available which allows you to play against AI and other players at the same time. Team Race lets you race in teams with the winner gaining the most team points. VIP mode selects one player in each team which must be protected from other cars, or a crash will result in a winning point. Driift Mania is unique experience, but control issues may be frustrating.

We Say
GOOD BUY

Driift Mania

Platform: Wii
 
Vote for this article Log in with Facebook

More Info on Driift Mania

Driift Mania Driift Mania Driift Mania Driift Mania
Game Profile: Driift Mania
Driift Mania Australian Release: Out Now

Driift Mania Review Comments

Leave a comment Log in with Facebook
Thanks for the review, I was thinking about getting this.
looks cool. I used to play a game exactly like this on my pc about 10 years ago lol
I'm thinking of getting this, and this just helped my desision.
Good review!

mattc said: looks cool. I used to play a game exactly like this on my pc about 10 years ago lol



Is it Ironman Super Offroad? That was great fun.

JPrincess said:

mattc said: looks cool. I used to play a game exactly like this on my pc about 10 years ago lol


Is it Ironman Super Offroad? That was great fun.



I cannot remember the name of it for the life of me lol... But the tracks look exactly the same as this
I'll add more pictures, yes the track that I selected for the review looks the same o.o
That track with the 90 degree turns is the most similar i think... And most frustrating as well haha
Wow.. I used to play a game similiar like this in snes, I think the snes game is called super off road. It was a fun game to play.
Nice review, exactly what I would have said.. minus the part about frustrating controls. I think the controls are quite good, especially considering the variety in different vehicles' drift stats. The only frustrating thing was getting used to each vehicle, IMO.

mattc said:

JPrincess said:

mattc said: looks cool. I used to play a game exactly like this on my pc about 10 years ago lol


Is it Ironman Super Offroad? That was great fun.


I cannot remember the name of it for the life of me lol... But the tracks look exactly the same as this


I believe the game you are referring to is 'Death Rally' highly addictive and one of the best games for it's time

Was back in 96' to be exact
I played this for 20 mins I couldn't take it anymore
Mario kart wii is Totally better!
people are correct if they are refurring to Iron Man super offroad racing, because the screenshot with the red and white fence around the track is 100% exact same track design as in the very first level in ironman's super offroad racing as i just checked, i own the snes and the amiga version,

Post a comment

Leave a comment Log in with Facebook
  • Driift Mania
  • Driift Mania
  • Driift Mania
  • Driift Mania

Recently Read

Featured Wii Content

Games of April: Your Most Anticipated?

Games of April: Your Most Anticipated?

27/03/2014 Polls 8 13
Publishers and tickets confirmed for EB Expo 2014
Gryllis 1 day News 2 7
Nintendo rejected exclusivity on Skylanders concept

Nintendo rejected exclusivity on Skylanders concept

Gryllis 2 days News 6 5
Super Smash Bros. Melee's acapella version

Super Smash Bros. Melee's acapella version

Tano 2 days News 2 5
Free-to-play is the future, says free-to-play game dev

Free-to-play is the future, says free-to-play game dev

Tano 3 days News 4 5
Super Mario 64 in first-person with Oculus Rift
Tano 4 days News 1 6
Aus remains the only overseas PAX, Texas added

Aus remains the only overseas PAX, Texas added

Gryllis 5 days News 1 7
Friendly Fire Show 50th episode spectacular!

Friendly Fire Show 50th episode spectacular!

Podcast 5 days Articles 2 7
Friendly Fire Show 49: Tano finds his voice

Friendly Fire Show 49: Tano finds his voice

Podcast 07/04 Articles 1 5

Community Content

A loser's review of FIFA 14
03/03/2014 Blog 11 0

MMGN Updates

Status
Updating..
Username

DarkJibTEC, Blak commented on Anime.MMGN Member Interview - xxSoS

DarkJibTEC 1 hour ago
Username

commented on Anime.MMGN Member Interview - xxSoS

Kenni 9 hours ago
Username

tsubibo, inubazh11 commented on Free-to-play is the future, says free-to-play game dev

tsubibo 20 hours ago
Username

commented on Pretend to be a plane in Cult Of The Wind

zurczner 21 hours ago
Username

Morgan_H is now Level 13!

Morgan_H 22 hours ago
Username

commented on Date A Live 2

Kenni 1 day ago
Username

inubazh11, sjt333 commented on Classic Fox News: 'Video type things', Dark Souls implicated in murder

inubazh11 1 day ago
Username

commented on Date A Live 2

xxSoS 1 day ago